Avoid the wisdom of the flock

Expand your area of scouting for news and information.
Look beyond your regular choices.

As a new practicing blogger, I am currently researching the notion of blogging further. I want to find out what is available out there in the world of other blog writers. I wanted to explore what is interesting in the global spectrum of blogging and share them with you. Throughout my blogging days I will be listing down reference points of all interesting things I come across and recommend them to you.

I came across an interesting TALK on TED.com and thought I’d share with you today. I think you’ll find it interesting, if perhaps, you might want to know what other important blog movements are available just like me. With my media background and my new found interest in blogging, this was interesting for me.

Here’s my sum up info before you watch the video via the link I include below. The talk is by a very interesting guy called Ethan Zuckerman, whom is a blogger and digital visionary. He wants us to expand our searches for wisdom by looking at media of other countries across the globe, rather than limiting just our own native ones and looking beyond the ‘trending’ ones.

Suggesting to us that this way, we will be exposed to important issues, music, culture, poetry in other parts of the world that we may have not ever known about. Ethan even recommends that we try out to read news in foreign languages that we may not know. Listen to the talk to find out what Ethan means by this, in the link below.

images.jpg

Ethan’s talk on ted:
https://www.ted.com/speakers/ethan_zuckerman

Ethan in this talk promotes an interesting international blogging community called ‘Global Voices" that aims to fix media in different parts of the world.
We should look at all of the world as our own he says and contribute to it with your speciality, expertise and interests. With new media this has been made possible even in the utmost remote countries.

here’s the link for Ethan’s Global Voices:
http://globalvoicesonline.org/#

Global Voices has been leading the conversation on citizen media reporting since 2005.

183883_254x191.jpg

follow Ethan on twitter:
https://twitter.com/ethanz

Another interesting outcome from Ethan is Media Cloud:
http://mediacloud.org/

you’ll find tools for online media analysis here.

Ethan say’s that global voices and blogging is a bit like DJ of interests, hope you like my 'playlist’

Much Luv,
Daffi_tried_and_tested ;)

 
12
Kudos
 
12
Kudos

Now read this

SHOE STORY

shoes with holes in their soles Hello office ladies and office men, or shoe fan’s overall. Today’s post is about a pair of comfy shoes I bought a month ago. I really can not emphasise enough about how C-O-M-F-Y they are. Seriously, for... Continue →