Water Spring in Albania

The Blue Eye

Greetings fellow readers of my blog. Recently, while returning from Saranda on the route home, I planned to visit the profound spring, in Albanian it is called ‘Syri I Kaltert’ - english translation ‘The Blue Eye’.

Seriously, I did not imagine it would be as beautiful as I’ve been informed via word of mouth by various people. This natural gift, to this part of the earth is AMAZINGLY beautiful. So serene, so picturesque, so alluring, one really inhibits a calming state of mode while here. The greenery and the beautiful water spring is so fairytale like.

IMG_5525.jpg

IMG_5522.JPG

IMG_5521.JPG

The water I drank from a spring tap available at one of the restaurant, I tell you is so tastefully fresh, I really never tasted such refreshing water before. I had a sore throat at the time and it felt like this water somehow miraculously just soothed away that horrible sore pain in my throat. My advice if you do pay a visit to the ‘Blue Eye’ spring don’t forget to fill some bottles and take some water home.

IMG_5537.jpg

Some factual info on the spring:

The Blue Eye (Albanian: Syri i kalter) is a natural water spring in the Delvine District in southwest of Albania.

The river bubbles up from beneath more than 50 meters deep.

Syri_i_Kalter.jpg

The Blue Eye water is the source of Bistrice River, 25 km long, this water ends up in the Ionian Sea south of Saranda - this explains the cold water of the Saranda beaches.

IMG_5549.jpg

The water I must emphasise ALOUD it is numbing COLD, you’ll be able to keep your feet in for maybe 10 seconds it’s so cold. Although, there were people much braver than I, whom had a dive into the blue eye and swam quickly out. Must have felt so refreshing for them on such hot day.

IMG_5540.jpg

A definite ‘must visit’ on my travel recommendation’s list.

Until my next post.
Thank you for reading B-)
Daffi

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

SPICE UP YOUR WATER

ADD DETOXING ELEMENTS TO YOUR WATER Hello fellow readers. Today I have decided to share with you what I am drinking lately. If you are like me and don’t drink a lot of natural water, because you simply don’t like the plain taste, then... Continue →